Skip navigation

I’ve loved the shots from The Nocturnes for a long time. I saw them first at Open Studios in San Francisco at Fort Mason. Really blew me away.

So, after years of thinking about it, I tried last night, but couldn’t find what I was looking for. Didn’t have the technique figured out (ok, clearly still don’t — but at least now on the path). And didn’t have the subject located. So, tonight, I tried just working on the how. Not worried about the “what” at all. In this one, the shutter was open for 101 seconds. ISO 200. f/8. And while the shutter was open, I walked around to both sides of the tree. tried to light one side of the bright tree with a pop from my flash with a red gel. And the other side with a pop with a blue gel. Clearly, not enough power to really change the tree. But note the red splash on the tree to the right. Oops. I guess I still have some learning to do.

One of the coolest things (to me) is the way the sky turns out in these. To my eye, the sky was black. But you get this great purple color in the shot.

PSR_120106_3609

Leave a Reply

